Following the reformation of USA Team Handball in 2008 as an Olympic NGB (Non-Governing Body), NE-based clubs began to organize around a single question — How can we guarantee more competitive matches throughout the year?

Led by then-East Regional Director Dominique Dumont, the Northeast Team Handball League (NTHL) was formed with Jan O’Shea as Commissioner. The four founding members of the league — New York City, New York Athletic Club, West Point Black, and New England Freeze would play a 12 game quadruple-round-robin season during 2008-2009.

As has become a recurring theme in the NTHL, New York City was able to prove itself victorious during the league’s inaugural season, winning the league championship. In fact, NYC has won the top men’s division title in every year of the league’s eight year existence.